Thumb

Impotence, what is it?

Male Impotence, also known as Erectile Dysfunction, is defined as a partial or total inability to achieve or maintain an erection sufficient for satisfactory sexual performance. This disorder is quite common in men, especially from the age of 40 years. This diminished sexual function greatly impinges on the quality of life of the affected subject and his partner.

This condition can lead to a loss of self-esteem in men, tarnish their self-image, and even lead to anxiety or depression. Impotence can greatly damage the intimacy of the couple, and even lead to avoidance of any physical contact of a man with his partner. It can also increase emotional stress. This stress can, by itself, reinforce the psychogenic components of erectile dysfunction.

causes

The erections are ensured thanks to the balance of the blood flow between the inside and the outside of the penis. Thus, penile erection is a neurovascular phenomenon: it requires the dilation of the penile vessels, the relaxation of smooth muscles, the increase of blood flow in the cavernous bodies, and the occlusion of the veins.

The two cavernous bodies located at the level of the penis constitute indeed a spongy and extensible tissue. Composed of gaps spaces, these cavernous bodies are gorged with blood during the erection. Because of this, vascular diseases of the penis are the most common causes, and account for about 80% of cases of organic erectile dysfunction.

    Other diseases can cause this erectile dysfunction, such as:

  • Diabetes
  • Neurological diseases, such as the consequences of a pelvic cancer operation, with removal of the prostate, which affects the erectile nerves
  • Endocrine disorders: hypogonadism (defective reproductive system leading to loss of testicular function), hyperprolactinemia (overproduction of a hormone called prolactin) or thyroid disease;
  • Blepine hyperplasias of the prostate, whose causes are poorly defined. Here, even if a factor such as endothelial dysfunction, or a malfunction of the blood vessels, can be found, a psychogenic component, linked to performance anxiety, also plays strongly. Sometimes the simple treatment of this psychological element is enough to restore a normal erection.
  • When psychogenic, impotence is more common in younger men, who describe a sudden onset of erectile dysfunction, and early and late morning or night erections. This psychological impotence can be caused by various problems, mainly performance anxiety, but also guilt, depression, relationship problems, or fear, as well as personal anxiety.

The symptoms of impotence

The most common symptoms associated with erectile dysfunction are the inability to achieve and maintain an erection during intercourse, low libido, as well as strong anxiety about sexual performance.

    Other types of male sexual dysfunction may include

  • problems of libido, of sexual interest
  • orgasm
  • ejaculation

Thumb

Treatment of impotence

Psycho-social therapy can be effective when emotional or psychological factors contribute to erectile dysfunction. Psycho-sexual treatments can range from simple sex education, through improved communication between the two partners, to cognitive behavioral therapies. They are often combined with pharmacotherapy.

Medications are commonly used to treat erectile dysfunction. All of the molecules work by increasing blood flow to the penis. These pills have proven their safety as well as their effectiveness, when their prescription is supervised by a doctor: it is mainly sildenafil (Viagra), tadalafil (Cialis) and vardenafil (Levitra). 65 to 70% of men thus find an erectile function of quality.

If these pills do not work, there is a medication that can be delivered directly into the penis, intracavernous: thus, after learning from the doctor or the nurse, patients can do their own injection of alprostadil, used alone or in combination with papaverine and phentolamine. These injections are effective in more than 70% of cases, however up to 30% of patients experience pain at the site of the injection.

Finally, when drugs do not work, there are other options: devices using a vacuum pump, also called penis pumps, allow erection through a purely mechanical action. By creating a vacuum, the blood is sucked into the penis. The erection is then maintained by means of a tourniquet.

Penile implants, placed inside the penis, make it powerful enough for sexual activity. These implants are effective, however they must be placed by means of a surgical operation. This type of treatment, whose complications are significantly higher than with drug molecules, will only be offered to certain patients, in whom more conventional therapies have failed.

Risk factors

  • tobacco
  • Diabetes
  • hypertension
  • lipid abnormalities
  • obesity
  • lack of physical exercise

Preventing impotence

The prevention factors to avoid erectile dysfunction are to adopt a healthy lifestyle. Regular physical activity is paramount. Other protective factors are related to diet, in order to prevent diabetes, obesity and hypertension. Finally, tobacco and the use of illicit drugs are to be banned... Similarly, alcohol consumption should remain moderate.

Thumb

La Dysfonction Erectile, qu'est-ce que c'est ?

L'impuissance masculine, aussi appelée dysfonction érectile, se définit comme une inaptitude partielle ou totale à atteindre ou à maintenir une érection suffisante pour une performance sexuelle satisfaisante. Ce trouble est assez fréquent chez les hommes, surtout à partir de l'âge de 40 ans. Cette fonction sexuelle amoindrie empiète fortement sur la qualité de vie du sujet atteint et de sa partenaire.

Cette affection peut engendrer, chez l'homme, une perte d'estime de soi, ternir son image de soi, voire mener à l'anxiété ou la dépression. L'impuissance peut fortement endommager l'intimité du couple, et même entraîner un évitement de tout contact physique d'un homme avec sa partenaire. Elle peut également augmenter le stress émotionnel. Ce stress peut alors, par lui-même, renforcer les composants d'ordre psychogène de la dysfonction érectile.

Causes

Les érections sont assurées grâce à l'équilibre du flux sanguin entre l'intérieur et l'extérieur du pénis. Ainsi, l'érection du pénis est un phénomène neuro-vasculaire : elle requiert la dilatation des vaisseaux du pénis, la relaxation des muscles lisses, l'augmentation du flux sanguin dans les corps caverneux, et l'occlusion des veines.

Les deux corps caverneux situés au niveau du pénis constituent en effet un tissu spongieux et extensible. Composés d'espaces lacunes, ces corps caverneux se gorgent de sang durant l'érection. Raison pour laquelle, les maladies vasculaires du pénis sont les causes les plus fréquentes, et expliquent environ 80 % des cas de dysfonction érectile organique.

    D'autres maladies peuvent engendrer cette dysfonction érectile, telles que :

  • Le diabète
  • Des maladies neurologiques, telles que les conséquences d'une opération de cancer pelvien, avec une ablation de la prostate, qui touche les nerfs érectiles
  • Des désordres d'ordre endocrinien : hypogonadisme (défaut de l'appareil reproducteur conduisant à une perte de fonction des testicules), hyperprolactinémie (surproduction d'une hormone appelée prolactine) ou maladie de la thyroïde ;
  • Les hyperplasies bégnines de la prostate, dont les causes sont mal définies. Ici, même si un facteur comme une dysfonction endothéliale, soit un mauvais fonctionnement des vaisseaux sanguins, peut se retrouver, un composant d'ordre psychogène, lié à l'anxiété de performance, joue aussi fortement. Parfois, le simple traitement de cet élément psychologique suffit à restaurer une érection normale.
  • Lorsqu'elle est d'origine psychogène, l'impuissance est plus fréquente chez les hommes plus jeunes, qui décrivent un démarrage brutal de dysfonction érectile, et des érections matinales ou nocturnes précoces et persistantes. Cette impuissance d'ordre psychologique peut être causée par divers problèmes, l'anxiété de performance principalement, mais aussi la culpabilité, la dépression, les problèmes relationnels, ou la peur, ainsi que par une anxiété personnelle.

Les symptômes de la Dysfonction Erectile

Les symptômes les plus fréquents liés à des troubles de l'érection sont l'incapacité d'obtenir et maintenir une érection au cours d'une relation sexuelle, une faible libido, ainsi qu'une forte anxiété au sujet de la performance sexuelle.

    D'autres types de dysfonctions sexuelles masculines peuvent inclure :

  • des problèmes de libido, soit d'intérêt sexuel
  • l'orgasme
  • l'éjaculation

Thumb

Traitements de l'impuissance

Une thérapie psycho-sociale pourra être efficace lorsque des facteurs émotionnels ou psychologiques contribuent à la dysfonction érectile. Les traitements psycho-sexuels peuvent varier d'une simple éducation sexuelle, à travers l'amélioration de la communication entre les deux partenaires, à des thérapies comportementales cognitives. Ils sont souvent combinés avec la pharmacothérapie.

Des médicaments sont couramment utilisés dans le but de traiter la dysfonction érectile. L'ensemble des molécules fonctionnent en augmentant le flux sanguin vers le pénis. Ces pilules ont prouvé leur innocuité ainsi que leur efficacité, quand leur prescription est supervisée par un médecin : il s'agit principalement du sildénafil (Viagra), du tadalafil (Cialis) et du vardenafil (Levitra). 65 à 70 % des hommes retrouvent ainsi une fonction érectile de qualité.

Si ces pilules ne fonctionnent pas, il existe une médication pouvant être délivrée directement dans le pénis, au niveau intracaverneux : ainsi, après apprentissage auprès du médecin ou de l'infirmier, les patients peuvent réaliser eux-mêmes leur propre injection d'alprostadil, utilisé seul ou combiné avec la papaverine et la phentolamine. Ces injections sont efficaces dans plus de 70 % des cas, cependant jusqu'à 30 % des patients ressentent de la douleur sur le site de l'injection.

Enfin, quand les médicaments ne fonctionnent pas, il existe d'autres options : des dispositifs utilisant une pompe à vide, aussi appelés pompes à pénis, permettent une érection grâce à une action uniquement mécanique. En créant du vide, le sang est aspiré au niveau du pénis. L'érection est ensuite maintenue au moyen d'un garrot.

Des implants péniens, placés à l'intérieur du pénis, permettent de le rendre assez puissant pour une activité sexuelle. Ces implants sont efficaces, ils doivent toutefois être placés au moyen d'une opération chirurgicale. Ce type de traitement, dont les complications sont significativement plus élevées qu'avec des molécules médicamenteuses, sera seulement proposée à certains patients, chez lesquels les thérapies plus classiques ont échoué.

Les facteurs de risque

  • le tabac
  • Le diabète
  • l'hypertension
  • les anomalies lipidiques
  • l'obésité
  • le manque d'exercice physique

Prévenir l'impuissance

Les facteurs de prévention pour éviter la dysfonction érectile consistent à adopter un mode de vie sain. La pratique d'une activité physique régulière est primordiale. Les autres facteurs protecteurs sont liés à l'alimentation, afin de prévenir diabète, obésité et hypertension. Enfin, le tabac et la consommation de drogues illicites sont à bannir… De même, la consommation d'alcool doit rester modérée.